Six Royals Named To ODAC Spring Sportsmanship Teams

Six Royals Named To ODAC Spring Sportsmanship Teams

Six Eastern Mennonite University student-athletes have been honored by the ODAC, earning spots on the ODAC/StellarOne Sportsmanship Teams.  A total of 103 players from around the conference were named to the teams.

The six honorees are: senior Michael Allen (Fork Union, VA/Louisa County) from men’s track & field, junior Jonathan Estrada (Miami, FL/Doral Academy) from baseball, junior Brooke Hensley (Elkton, VA/Spotswood) from softball, sophomore Lanae Kreider (Harrisonburg, VA/Broadway) from women’s track & field, freshman Brittany McDonaldson (Harrisonburg, VA/Harrisonburg) from women’s golf, and senior Andre Swartzentruber from (Keezletown, VA/Spotswood) men’s golf.

The 2013 ODAC/StellarOne Sportsmanship Teams are awarded to each of 11 spring sports sponsored by the conference.  This marks the fourth year the league has recognized these fine student-athletes for their excellence in sportsmanship.

“I am pleased that the conference recognizes student-athletes for their focus on fair play and sportsmanship," explained ODAC Commissioner Brad Bankston.  "The conference prides itself on positive sportsmanship and encouraging student-athletes to lead by example. Each one of the honorees has been selected by the coaches in recognition of their conduct in the arena.  My hat is off to these student-athletes - thanking them for the example they set for all of us.”

The ODAC has a rich tradition in promoting fair play and good sportsmanship in each sport across the league.  The character of the conference’s student-athletes on and off the field is a representation of not only the individuals and teams, but also the institutions they play for.

“All of us at StellarOne Bank are excited to be an official corporate sponsor, touching the lives of so many in the Old Dominion Athletic Conference," said Angela Ross, Chief Branding Officer for StellarOne.

Below is a summary of the student-athletes representing the ODAC/StellarOne Sportsmanship Teams in baseball, equestrian, men’s golf, women’s golf, men’s lacrosse, women’s lacrosse, softball, men’s tennis, women’s tennis, men’s outdoor track and field, and women’s outdoor track and field.

Kyle Henshaw, Bridgewater College
Jonathan Estrada, Eastern Mennonite University
Jessup Lambert, Emory & Henry College
Justin Morrison, Guilford College
Aaron Van Allen, Hampden-Sydney College
Brandon Miller, Lynchburg College
Austin Carpenter, Randolph-Macon College
Tyler Grouten, Roanoke College
Cody Smallwood, Shenandoah University
Josh Miller, Virginia Wesleyan College
Will Salley, Washington and Lee University

Taylor Rose, Bridgewater College
Sarah Brown, Hollins University
Rachel Jones, Lynchburg College
Lauren Dees, Randolph College
Elizabeth Koslow, Sweet Briar College
Molly Rountree, Washington and Lee University

Matt Dye, Bridgewater College
Andre Swartzentruber, Eastern Mennonite University
Nick Shedd, Guilford College
Drew Arnold, Hampden-Sydney College
Chad Wisecarver, Lynchburg College
Hunter Weaver, Randolph-Macon College
Robbie Scott, Roanoke College
Zach Ramey, Shenandoah University
Kevin Wolfe, Virginia Wesleyan College
Mark Sowinski, Washington and Lee University

Thomas Maher, Bridgewater College
Samuel Newland, Guilford College
Jess Hawthorne, Hampden-Sydney College
Jacob Sentz, Lynchburg College
John Grundy, Randolph College
Josh Merwin, Randolph-Macon College
Kyle Hagens, Roanoke College
Matt Justice, Shenandoah University
Corey Bauer, Virginia Wesleyan College
Jack Switala, Washington and Lee University

Nevin Heckman, Bridgewater College
Michael Allen, Eastern Mennonite University
Chad Norton, Guilford College
Tyler Richardson, Lynchburg College
Jed Curtis, Roanoke College
Charles Basil, Shenandoah University
Travis Oliver, Virginia Wesleyan College
Eddie Barnes, Washington and Lee University

Evan Stack, Bridgewater College
Webster Gilley, Emory & Henry College
Ben Nelson, Guilford College
Zack King, Hampden-Sydney College
Josh Johnson, Lynchburg College
Hart Gillespie, Randolph College
Connor Hoerr, Randolph-Macon College
James Lee, Roanoke College
Steven Baker, Shenandoah University
Drew Tomajczyk, Virginia Wesleyan College
Vincent Kim, Washington and Lee University

Sarah Goodman, Bridgewater College
Brooke Hensley, Eastern Mennonite University
Cortney Halsey, Emory & Henry College
Autumn Yoder, Guilford College
Nicole Shipp, Lynchburg College
Heather Funk, Randolph College
Lacey Berry, Randolph-Macon College
Katie Romano, Roanoke College
Jordan Wolford, Shenandoah University
Nikki Thompson, Sweet Briar College
Megan Zahnd, Virginia Wesleyan College

Abby Daniels, Bridgewater College
Brittany McDonaldson, Eastern Mennonite University
Sydney Patrick, Hollins University
Rebecca Ream, Randolph-Macon College
Sara Moir, Washington and Lee University

Savannah Key, Bridgewater College
E’leyna Garcia, Guilford College
Corrinne Nicholson, Hollins University
Hailey Bossert, Lynchburg College
Ashley Edwards, Randolph College
Alicia McGrew, Randolph-Macon College
Stephanie Vogel, Roanoke College
Juli Carbone, Shenandoah University
Kelsey Barta, Sweet Briar College
Summer Moore, Virginia Wesleyan College
Ashley Barnes, Washington and Lee University

Makenzie McDonald, Bridgewater College
Lanae Kreider, Eastern Mennonite University
Jennifer Thomas, Guilford College
Mel McFayden, Lynchburg College
Alisha McCrowey, Roanoke College
Dorothy Earner, Shenandoah University
Lex Higbee, Virginia Wesleyan College
Alexandra Hagan, Washington and Lee University

Olivia Stone, Bridgewater College
Taylor Evans, Emory & Henry College
Allison Hewitt, Guilford College
Priscila Montoya, Hollins University
Betsy Stipa, Lynchburg College
Danielle Lewis, Randolph College
Angelina Sportelli, Randolph-Macon College
Haley Goodes, Roanoke College
Shannon Allin, Shenandoah University
Sarah Manter, Sweet Briar College
Sara Yousif, Virginia Wesleyan College
Christina Douglas, Washington and Lee University