Lee Earns All-State First Team Honor

Lee Earns All-State First Team Honor

EMU's Jaylon Lee (Newport News, Va./Denbigh) added one final award to his breakout sophomore season, earning a spot on the All-State First Team. The honor was voted on by the Virginia Sports Information Directors (VaSID).

Lee showed incredible power numbers for the Diamond Royals, finishing second in the Old Dominion Athletic Conference with 10 home runs and sixth with 42 RBIs. Both season numbers were the fifth-best in program history, and the most since 2009, when Chris Harpine had 13 home runs and 44 RBIs.

Combined with 10 doubles and four triples, Lee was third in the ODAC with a .640 slugging percentage.

He also led the team with 37 runs, good for seventh in program history. Lee was second for Eastern Mennonite with 48 hits and 10 doubles, and third with 19 walks and nine stolen bases. He batted .320 and put together a .425 on-base percentage. Also brandishing his speed on defense, the center fielder was second on the team with 119 putouts and recorded five assists.

Lee was previously named All-Region and All-ODAC.

Only six ODAC players earned a spot to the All-State First Team, split evenly between pitchers and position players. Seven more landed on the Second Team.

EMU finished 10-12 in ODAC play, earning their second ODAC Tournament berth in the past five seasons, which was a marked improvement after a 12-year absence from the postseason. The Royals were 16-23-1 overall.

2019 VaSID College Division All-State Baseball Awards
Player of the Year: Nick DiNapoli (SS), Christopher Newport
Pitcher of the Year: Nick Roth (RHP), Randolph-Macon
Rookie of the Year: Garrett Jackson (3B/RHP), Lynchburg
Coach of the Year: John Harvell, Christopher Newport

First Team
C - Ryan Grubbs, Christopher Newport
1B - Nicholas Baham, Christopher Newport
2B - Joseph Cutchins, Christopher Newport
3B - Seth Woodard, Christopher Newport
SS - Nick DiNapoli, Christopher Newport
OF - Trey Hicks, Christopher Newport
OF - Jaylon Lee, Eastern Mennonite
OF - Luke Tyree, Marymount
DH - Matt Spagnolo, Hampden-Sydney
UTIL - Kinston Carson, Lynchburg
SP - Josh Husby, Christopher Newport
SP - Nick Roth, Randolph-Macon
SP - Michael Zubovich, Randolph-Macon
RP - Kevin Ledford, Roanoke
RP - Tyler Jumper, Christopher Newport 

Second Team
C - Tim Ortega, Ferrum
1B - Jordan McDonough, Virginia Wesleyan
2B - Chase Counts, Hampden-Sydney
3B - Mike Nickles, Randolph-Macon
SS - Thomas Packert, Apprentice School
OF - Christian Hague, Mary Washington
OF - Jordan Mason, Christopher Newport
OF - Shawn Nickles, Randolph-Macon
DH - Eric O'Brien, Christopher Newport
UTIL - Austin Sizemore, Marymount
SP - Hank Biggs, Mary Washington
SP - Paul Jones, Apprentice School
SP - Jacob Pilarski, Virginia Wesleyan
RP - Gerard DePhillips, Shenandoah
RP - Thomas Packert, Apprentice School