Maret And Hedgepeth Named All-ODAC

Maret And Hedgepeth Named All-ODAC

EMU landed two field hockey women on the All-ODAC teams, with both earning their first award from the conference.

Sophomore Kayla Maret (Chesapeake, Va./Indian River) was named to the All-ODAC Second Team in a season where she moved up from defense to midfield and eventually to attack. As she adjusted to her new offensive role, Maret finished the 2018 season on a hot streak, notching six goals and three assists over EMU's final four games. For the season, she tied for 11th in the Old Dominion Athletic Conference with 23 points, putting together nine goals and five assists. Maret scored the game-winner in a 3-1 win over Wesley on Sept. 21, and registered six points (two goals and two assists) in a 6-4 loss to Randolph-Macon on Oct. 24.

Freshman Skylar Hedgepeth (Smithfield, Va./Smithfield) took a spot on the All-ODAC Third Team. She was the Royals leading scoring with 11 goals, and tied with Maret for the team lead in points. The goals total was seventh in the ODAC. Hedgepeth took off in the season's fourth game and scored the game-winning goal in three consecutive games (Notre Dame, Frostburg State and Hood). She had another game-winner against Sweet Briar, the same game where she registered her first collegiate hat trick with three goals. Hedgepeth was second in the ODAC with four game-winning goals.

Eastern Mennonite finished the year with a record of 8-11, the most wins for the program since 2011.

Listed below are the 2018 All-ODAC Field Hockey Awards.  For more information, visit any of the participating schools' websites, or go to the ODAC's home on the Internet at

ODAC Player of the Year: Nikki Simpao, Sr., F/M, Lynchburg
ODAC Coach of the Year: Enza Steele, Lynchburg
ODAC Rookie of the Year: Kelsey Jones, Fr., M, Shenandoah
ODAC/Virginia Farm Bureau Scholar-Athlete: Morgan Payne, Sr., D, Shenandoah

Alexis Brown+ - So. - D - Lynchburg
Kayla Copeman^ - So. - F/M - Lynchburg
Jackie Lerro* - So. - F - Lynchburg
Nikki Simpao* - Sr.-  F/M - Lynchburg
Emma Clark* - Jr. - GK - Roanoke
Kaylin Stenson* - Sr. - D - Roanoke
Emilee Wooten^ - So. - F - Roanoke
Taylor Hayes* - Jr. - M - Shenandoah
Morgan Payne* - Sr. - D - Shenandoah
Lauren Paolano^ - Jr. - F - Washington and Lee
Haley Tucker* - Sr. - F - Washington and Lee

Laura Gretz* - Sr. - D - Bridgewater
Georgia Howard^ - Jr. - D - Bridgewater
Tessa Tierson^ - Sr. - F - Bridgewater
Kayla Maret - So. - F - EMU
Sierra Magdaleno - Sr. - M - Ferrum
Maria Teresa Ambrogi-Torres+ - So. - F - Randolph-Macon
Georgia Drescher^ - So. - D - Randolph-Macon
Kayla Alderman^ - Sr. - F - Shenandoah
Kelsey Jones - Fr. - M - Shenandoah
Cori Jackson+ - Jr. - M - Virginia Wesleyan
Skye Swain^ - Sr. - GK - Virginia Wesleyan

Ali Bishop - Jr. - GK - Bridgewater
Skylar Hedgepeth - Fr. - F - EMU
Tatianna Roberts - Jr. - M - Ferrum
Isabella Eldridge - Sr. - F - Lynchburg
Emma Strouse - So. - M - Lynchburg
Claire Magill - So. - D - Randolph-Macon
Gatlin Snyder - Fr. - GK - Randolph-Macon
Kestrel Thorne-Kaunelis - Sr. - M/D - Roanoke
Julie Fassl - So. - F - Virginia Wesleyan
Emily Price - Jr. - F - Virginia Wesleyan
Elizabeth Roberto^ - Jr. - D - Virginia Wesleyan
Caroline Caruso - So. - M - Washington and Lee
Ariyel Yavalar+ - Sr. - GK - Washington and Lee

*2017 First Team
^2017 Second Team
+2017 Third Team