Abele Named All-CVC Second Team

Abele Named All-CVC Second Team

Men's volleyball senior Travis Abele (Mechanicsville, Va./Lee-Davis) has wrapped up his collegiate career in style, earning All-CVC Second Team honors. This is Abele's first yearly award from the Continental Volleyball Conference.

Filling a number of roles for the Royals this season, Abele was the most flexible player in the conference. After playing as an opposite for Eastern Mennonite over his first three season, he added the role of setter for half of the rotation. Abele finished the season with 176 kills, 267 assists and 151 digs, and was the only player in the CVC to pick up at least 150 in each of the three categories. He added 44 blocks and 19 service aces and finished in the top 17 in the CVC in digs, kills, assists and blocks.

Abele racked up a season high 18 kills in a three-set match against Wittenberg on March 4, adding 11 digs and five blocks. In his final game, he earned a triple double with 10 kills, 17 assists and 13 digs in a five-setter against Rutgers-Newark.

He was also a two-time CVC Player of the Week over his career.

Since the rally-scoring era started in 2009, Abele ranks in the top-10 in EMU's career kills, digs, assists, blocks and aces list.

Playing a very challenging schedule, EMU's young team finished the year at 4-7 in the CVC and 4-19 overall. They finished one win shy of reaching the six-team tourney in D-III's most balanced conference.

Listed below are the 2019 All-CVC Men's Volleyball Awards. For more information, read the official release from the CVC.

CVC Player of the Year - Ian Capp, Kean
CVC Rookie of the Year - Arvind Kumar, Rutgers-Newark
CVC Setter of the Year - Ian Capp, Kean
CVC Libero of the Year - Daniel Aina, Southern Virginia
CVC Coach of the Year - Tom Peterson, Southern Virginia

First Team
Ian Capp, Kean
Paul Clark, Southern Virginia
Joe Fick, Juniata
Kamil Garbowski, Kean
Quinn Peterson, Juniata
Nahuel Recabarren, Southern Virginia
Eric Van Thuyne, Ramapo

Second Team
Travis Abele, Eastern Mennonite
Daniel Aina, Southern Virginia
Nick Baxter, Elizabethtown
Dylan Flor, Kean
Sam Safley, Marymount
Remington Shahan, Marymount
Colby Wilson, Kean

Third Team
Jake Connors, Rutgers-Newark
Kevin Duffy, Juniata
David Hibner, Juniata
Arvind Kumar, Rutgers-Newark
Jake Milnazik, Kean
Lee Olenyik, Randolph-Macon
Kaipo Tagaloa, Southern Virginia